More than ever before, it is important to protect your employees and locations from potential external risks. With Visitor Approval you can review the profile and activity of an external person even before they arrive on-site.
This feature requires a Premium, Enterprise or Enterprise (2016) (Grandfathered) plan.
Activate Visit Approvals
Administrators can enable this feature from Settings > Visitor > Approval
As soon as enabled, approvals for new visits will be sent to pending review when created via the Dashboard or the Outlook Add-in or Generic calendar integrations.
Please note: Visits created via our public API endpoints or an external integration (i.e. Meeting room integrations) will not go through approval flow.
If you decide to disable this feature at any time, you will receive an alert to let you know that all pending visits will be automatically approved.
Creating visits when Approval is enabled
After activation, hosts will be able to see a warning on the visitor registration form that will indicate the need to obtain the approval before an invite is sent to the visitor.
A similar warning will display when using the Outlook Add-in
Once approval is given, the visitor will receive an invitation and the ability to check-in the visitor manually on Dashboard will be enabled, this is not possible while in review.
A new status has been added to the logbook to reflect this process and to inform receptionists or security teams about the approval flow:
The administrator can assign one or multiple approvers per location by going to Settings > General settings > User rights, select the user and grant them the "Approve visits" right.
Approvers can access the pending review Dashboard via the side bar options:
They will then have the ability to select the visit and see all details associated with the visit and the visitor, allowing them to make an informed decision to Approve or Deny a visit. Approvers can also make a decision on group and recurring visits with a single click.
Tip 💡Approvers do not need to be granted the "See all visitors of the day" user right, they will only be able to see those new visits in pending approval.
Deny a visit
When the approver denies a visit, a new status will appear on the logbook called "Denied". We will also notify the host via email of the decision.
Visitors in "Denied" status will not be able to check-in via Dashboard or kiosk, and/or will not be granted physical access (for example, via a turnstile or gate) if you have an Access Control integration. Denied visitors will also not receive any kind of notification of the rejection but if at the kiosk, they will find a message to contact reception.
If you have access to the activity log, you can review the approver and when a visit was denied. The host will be able to create a new visit and start the approval flow again at any time even if the visitor has been denied in the past.
If the visit is approved, the status on the logbook will change from "In-review" to "Expected" and an invitation and/or remote registration emails will be sent. Your regular flow will then follow.
If the visitor arrives to your location without a pre-registered visit, they will be able to register via the kiosk, granted you allow unexpected visitors. These visits will then be placed in the pending review Dashboard and will need to be evaluated by an approver before they can check-in.
Tip 💡 If you allow unexpected visitors at the reception or kiosk, we recommend to assign at least one approver at the reception to ensure visitors can be checked-in quickly and efficiently. Currently, we don't send email notifications for new "in-review" visits.
We want to hear your feedback, you can always share your ideas with us in our feedback board. If you have any questions about this feature, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or via the messenger in your Dashboard.