Why delete visits?
Certain data privacy regulations (such as the European GDPR and California's CCPA), require that you do not store visit details longer than absolutely necessary.
This means personal data should only be kept for as long as needed to carry out the activities it facilitates, after which it should be deleted.
That time period depends on your specific circumstances. The important part is to be able to justify why you chose a specific period.
When the time comes to delete the visits, you have 2 options to delete 2 different sets of data: visit data, and visitor data.
**Please note: Deleted data cannot be restored, recovered, and will not appear on exports.**
Deleting visit data
Deleting visits can be done manually or (if your subscriptions allows) automatically.
Visits can be deleted directly from the Dashboard.
Up to 100 visits can be selected at a time for deletion. Select the visits to be deleted and scroll to the bottom of the page. You will find the option to delete the visits. Repeat as needed until the visits are removed from the Dashboard.
This feature is a permissions-based option. If you do not have adequate permissions to delete visits, you will not have the option listed on your Dashboard. We recommend reaching out to your site administrator to review your permissions.
Automatic deletion & Retention period
This feature is part of our Premium plan.
This feature allows you to set a time frame to retain visits and will automatically remove them as they exceed the pre-determined time.
By default, accounts are set to keep the visits until the account is closed but the setting can be updated to delete a visit after the number of days, months, or years you enter.
Each day at midnight, visits that exceed the retention period are deleted
Visits deleted will no longer be visible on the Dashboard
Entries in a visitor's profile will not reflect visits deleted by the Retention period
Deleted visits will not impact the Analytics
Deleting visitor data
For a more in-depth removal of data, Proxyclick offers the option to delete a visitor's information in addition to a visits information. As with the visit data, deleting visitor profile data is permanent and cannot be recovered once it has been removed.
Visitor profiles can be deleted in bulk up to 100 at a time from the Visitors address book. Select the names to be deleted, scroll to the bottom of the page and choose "Delete".
Individual entries can be deleted from the Address book or from the profile. Click on the name of the visitor to open the profile. The visit details can be reviewed and edited from this section.
Deleting the visitors saved on the Kiosk
If you have selected a feature to remember returning visitors on the Kiosk, these profiles can be removed separately from visitor profiles stored in the Address Book.
The profiles stored on the Kiosk are used for unexpected visitors registering at the time of arrival (Address Book entries are used for pre-registration). From the Address Book main page, click on the link located in the upper right side of the screen, above below the name menu and Help link.
Confirm your selection to delete all visitor profiles and wait for the confirmation to confirm the visitors have been removed.
If you have any questions or feedback, please contact email@example.com or send us a message on the live chat.